Crock Pot Chicken

Some days I know I won’t have time to cook when I get home. That’s when I break out the crock pot. I figure that anything I can braise I can throw in the crock pot and, bonus, it’s done by the time I get home. Today I decided to use: chicken from the freezer, vegetable stock I made last fall and the last of the dates hiding in the back of my refrigerator to make a middle eastern spiced chicken. 

Ingredients 

  • Chicken– I used a package of 3 small thighs
  • 1 sweet onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbl cumin 
  • 1 tbl coriander 
  • 1 tsp cardamom
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbl cardamom pods
  • 1 tsp coriander seeds
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Enough stock to fill the crock pot

Put everything in crock pot and turn on high. Turn down to low after about 30 minutes. Leave on low all day. 


I check before I leave for work to make sure the crock pot doesn’t need to be topped off with more stock. 

Leave a Reply

