February Hates Me

The last four weeks have been tough. I had the flu. That included one solid week of running a fever, chills, fatigue, headache, body aches generally having no energy. Then there was another week where I didn’t run a fever but I was still tired and achy. I now have a sinus infection that I’m taking antibiotics for (and tearing up my intestines) and I started seeing blood in my urine again. Which is to say that running has been especially challenging this month. In fact, I looked back at this month today and realized that my last really enjoyable run was February 2. 


Until Thursday.  When I headed out the front door of the YMCA yesterday morning I didn’t feel tired or particularly frazzled. It was colder by a few degrees than it has been but I wasn’t that cold. I could feel my fingers and toes. I was even running a little faster than I started out on Wednesday. It was shaping up to be a good run. 


The ice on the Centennial Trail is mostly gone at this point. Footing is sure. I powered through the first 3 miles of my run. Then out past Kendall Yards. After I turned to run home I saw another runner in the distance and watched as we approached each other. As we came close he pulled up and greeted me and I realized who he was. One of the people that I follow on Strava. We have never met in person but I started following him after we ran the same route at the same time. It was a neat moment and reminded me how much I love the community of runners. I don’t have the time to join a running or training group at this time in my life but I still get to participate in this community through social media. I am grateful for that. 

Leave a Reply

