Ginger Pork Broth

Last week I was leafing through back issues of Bon Appetit. I have about 6 years worth. I had to stop my subscription when I ran out of storage space. And time. And ability to keep up. Now I pull out the back issues for inspiration. 

This time I was drawn to a recipe for poached chicken in a ginger broth. I knew I didn’t want to make the recipe exactly as written, but I loved the idea of a gingery garlicky broth with noodles and meat. I have pork chops in my freezer so I decided to use that and build a soup around it. 

Pork Ginger Broth

  • 10 oz. pork chop, cut into chunks
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 10 cremini mushrooms, sliced
  • 1″ ginger, minced
  • 8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 chile, sliced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 tsp allspice
  • 1 tbl. Soy sauce
  • 1 tbl. White wine vinegar
  • 6 c. Stock
  • 3 oz. udon noodles
  • Parsley 
  • Scallions
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Heat up the oil in a Dutch oven. Add pork and brown. Season with salt and pepper. When pork is browned, remove from pan. Add mushrooms and sauté until browned. Add ginger and garlic and sauté for about 30 seconds. Add chile. I used jalapeño but a red chile would be even better. Stir. Add a little more salt and pepper, then allspice and the 2 bay leaves. Stir. 



Use soy sauce and vinegar to deglaze the pan, stirring a scraping to get any browned bits up from the bottom of the pan. Add pork to the pan again. Then add stock. Bring to a simmer and add the udon noodles. Allow to simmer, uncovered, until noodles are done and the flavors have melded. I actually put the soup back on the stove for an extra 10 minutes last night because I felt like it needed to reduce a bit more. Remove bay leaves before serving. Serve with parsley and scallions. 

Leave a Reply

