The Glasgow Sweater

It seems like this sweater flew off my needles. Seriously. This was quite possibly the easiest, least complicated sweater I have ever knit. It’s a raglan knit from the bottom up. You knit the body up to the point where the sleeves need to be attached, then you knit the sleeves, join them to the body, and knit up from there. The only modification I made was knitting the sleeves in the round, two at a time, while magic looping. I did that because knitting sleeves one at a time makes me want to stab myself in the eye with a knitting needle, especially if the two sleeves then turn out to be two different lengths. And yes, that has happened to me more than once. At least when I make a mistake while knitting two at a time, it’s generally the same mistake in the same place. 


The cable pattern was simple and easy to memorize. I did use a lot of stitch markers to mark my place in the pattern though. That made it much easier to remember where the cable sections began ended. 


And I love this yarn. It’s Malabrigo Twist in Manzanilla Olive. It’s soft. It gives great stitch definition. And the color is a beautiful semi-solid. The yarn practically glows in the light. 


Knitting this sweater made me really want to knit another sweater, immediately. 

Details: 

Pattern: Glasgow Sweater from Interweave Knits, Winter 2016

Yarn: Malabrigo Twist, in Manzanilla Olive

Size: I made the smallest size, knit the pattern almost exactly as written, and used just under 7 skeins

Needles: size 9 and 10

Leave a Reply

