Light v. Dark

At the end of the first season of True Detective, as the two main characters leave the hospital they look up at the sky and and see the stars punching through the black of the night sky. Seeing this, one says to the other that the light is winning. This time of year, when the days are short and cold and I live mostly in the dark I wonder too which side is winning– the light or the dark. 
December is hard. It’s hard for me and it’s hard for my son. December is a time when schedules change. School lets out for 2 weeks. My son spends more time with his dad. There is the excitement of the Christmas tree and the presents underneath, but also anxiety surrounding the unknown, the un-usual. December is like a land mine laying dormant until the end of the year. This year, I hope I can contain the damage and prevent it from leaking into the new year. 

Leave a Reply

