Don’t do what I did

Don’t make the Lace Leaf Pullover as written. Don’t knit it in two pieces. Don’t expect that the pattern will make sense. Make this sweater, but only if you are willing to rework the pattern. But I’m getting ahead of myself. First, the details:

Pattern: Lace Leaf Pullover by Teva Durham. 

Source: I have the book excerpt published in the Summer 2005 issue of Interweave Knits, but it’s also in the book, Loop D Loop

Yarn: recycled Aran weight yarn that I have had in my stash for at least 8 years (and maybe closer to 10)

Needles: size 13 circular. 

Size: a little smaller than the smallest size

Now, on to the problems with this pattern. One: there are math errors, at least in the version I have. And the link to errata from the Ravelry page leads nowhere. So, since I knew there were errors but couldn’t access the corrections I ignored it when the stitch count was off and just made sure that everything would line up properly in the end. The errors were in the sleeves and I knew I would be shortening them anyway. And I’ve knit more than 10 sweaters in my lifetime and I am of a non-standard (I can shop in the juniors section because I am only 5 feet tall) size so I’ve modified most of them in some way. The 2 important points in knitting sleeves is this: they shouldn’t cut off your circulation, give you sweater wings or eat your hands AND the bind off and stair step bind offs and decreases that make up the sleeve cap should match the same in the armholes. Or at least be close enough to fudge. 


Now, for the second problem: the completely counter-intuitive, unnecessarily complicated and unflattering construction. This pattern is written so that you knit the bottom half of the sweater from the bottom up, then set aside. Then you knit the top of the sweater from the neck down. Finally, you graft the two halves together. This is completely unnecessary. If I were to make this sweater again I would just knit it from the top Dow, reversing thenlace leaf pattern on the bottom of the sweater. This method of construction also leaves a visible line in the middle of the sweater. A line right across the middle of your torso. I tried several different ways of grafting together the two halves.  First, I used Kitchener stitch as the pattern instructs. This was the result


This produced a really obvious line. I picked it out. Then I flipped the sweater inside out and used Kitchener stitch again. There was still a really obvious line. Finally I settled on a 3 needle bind off, worked with the right sides of the sweater together. There is still a line, but it’s much less obvious. And I have to say, I like the sweater. I like the asymmetrical sleeves. I like the way the collar comes up on the neck and has a button. It’s a cute, quick,slouchy sweater. It’s perfect for wearing around town on the weekends. It’s just too bad that the pattern wasn’t well constructed.

Leave a Reply

